IMG_1063

‘There is no point in treating a depressed person as if they were just feeling sad, or say There now, hang on, you’ll get over it. Sadness is more or less like a head cold, and with patience, it passes –
Depression is Cancer.” Barbara Kingsolver

I have had Depression, and I remember thinking that I could understand those who took their own lives. My depression began after cancer and in stages – I cannot speak for all. For years I was sad and I would cry often. The blues turned into fatigue and it became hard to focus. I knew something was wrong, but I was not aware of the word depression. On the day of 9 / 11
our son called to say that an airplane had flown into the World Trade Center. As I sat that day and watched as the world I knew changed, I changed too, day after day I could not get up out of the bed. It was as if my whole being imploded with the Twin Towers to nothingness.

I found out later that the attack on the Twin Towers was the “final straw that broke the camel’s back” and sent me into depression. Why am I writing about this? My daughter is suffering and I mean suffering with depression. It hurts my soul and my very being. I can remember and feel the darkness that surrounds her, the heaviness that she carries in her heart, the overwhelming need to sleep. Depression is real and its hurt encompasses everyone who loves you. You cannot manage it alone, it requires help. A family member may recognize that you need help but a person with depression will be irritated that their new sleep pattern will be potentially destroyed. Afterall, sleep is all someone with depression wants to do.
Reason is thrown to the wind. People with depression often neglect the ones they love the most.

Thankfully, depression can be treated. Mine, after 13 years is under control and I will never forget the day that I knew it was gone. I should have written it into a calendar as an anniversary to celebrate. For those who suffer with melancholy beware and listen to those around you and to all Peace be always with you.

PS I am writing along with the 31 day writing challenge by the Nester and Heading Home. I will not add my posts to their sites I have decided to just write with them side by side.

