Urban Dictionary: frazzled
http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=frazzled
Urban Dictionary
To be feeling a bit brain-fried; lost and confused; not functioning properly; slightly stressed; all over the place.
image001

You may never expect when you meet me that most of the time this is how I feel. I may appear to have all of my feathers in order but, as the saying goes, “nothing is the way it seems.”
I could be wrong but I have a feeling that more people than not feel this way, but I can only speak for myself. I have the experience of age in understanding why this happens to me, and I have the option to make it stop. I can control what I do with my time while most people can’t. Livings have to be made, children have to be fed, mothers and dads zoom back and forth in cars packed with children, schoolbooks and uniforms for after school games. Open the hatchback of any young mom’s car and you’ll find all the necessary items to live on the road, schedules are too tight and practice falls at different times for each child, multiply that with lack of sleep and you get “FRAZZLED”. There is a reason this word has two Z’s in it.

I have recently thrown myself back into the whirlpool of care-taking for young children. Exactly 5 children under the age of 6 and it brings me back to the reality of days gone by, when we raised 4 children under the age of 7. I don’t remember much about those days, because I don’t remember having time to even think. Ah, but I was young then. I’m not young now, I’m 62 and if you wonder why I mention that a lot in my blogs its because I have to remind myself I’m not as young as I used to be. Back to the 5 children under the age of 6. They are my grandchildren and I help their moms who juggle the children and their jobs along with their husbands, their houses and chores to just make ends meet. They need us, Hoppie and Poppie, my husband to help pick up, feed, babysit, and help with homework and activities. We have the time to help and so we do. I often think of the Grandparents who must take on the full responsibility of raising their grandchildren. My hat’s off to them!

I had forgotten what it was like to have to put my feet on the floor before sunrise and make pancakes – early to rise is not on my agenda. I have forgotten how bright eyed a child who gets a full night’s rest can be and their energy level. I forgot how much food a little boy can eat and eat and eat, how much milk it takes to keep growing bodies going and how often I have to say the word NO! I often wish I had stock in a diaper company.

This is a time that is just a stage, the children will grow up fast and be able to get around on their own and not need Hoppie and Poppie except for extra cash, or an extra hug. One day down the road,they will come and visit us, push us around in a wheelchair, feed us, give us encouragement and hugs. They will say the words they have heard from us their entire lives
I LOVE YOU.

It is worth the frazzle.

